· Home

· F1 Challenge

· Гостевая
  ·  kolumbus. ERA
  ·  The ERA cars
  ·  eraclub.co.uk

Энциклопедия Ф1
Grand Prix
8W - The stories...

Mod 1950 R&G
English Racing Automobiles

E.R.A. R1A
The Works 1934 to 1936
F S Cotton 1936 to 1937
E Bjornstad 1937 to 1938
W E Humphreys 1938 to 1942
H W Motors 1942 to 1947
R Parnell 1947 to 1948
D A Hampshire 1948 to 1952
Completed in May 1934 with a 1,500cc. supercharged engine.
The first ERA used a “Rising Sun” emblem designed by F. Gordon Crosby (the famous motoring artist).

E.R.A. R2A
The Works 1934 to 1936
N S Embiricos 1936 to 1938
A C Pollock 1938 to 1942
R M W Arbuthnot 1942 to 1946
G E Abecassis 1946 to 1948
C K Mortimer 1948
R Parnell 1948
G R Nixon 1948 to 1950
G R Hartwell 1950
J V Green & E M Martin 1950 to 1952

E.R.A. R3A
The Works 1934 to 1936
A N Black & T H Wisdom 1936 to 1937
C E C Martin 1937 to 1938
J H Bartlett 1938
R Hesketh 1938 to 1944
B Beall 1944 to 1957

E.R.A. R4A
P G Fairfield 1935 to 1937
N G Wilson 1937 to 1942
R Parnell 1942 to 1945
F R Gerard 1945 to 1955

E.R.A. R1B
R J B Seaman 1935 to 1936
G F A Manby-Colegrave 1936 to 1937
W E Cotton 1937 to 1947
T C Harrison 1947 to 1951
C J Hamilton 1951 to 1955

E.R.A. R2B "Romulus"
H H Prince Bira 1935 to 1948
H R H Prince Chula 1948 to 1963

E.R.A. R3B
The Works 1936
R3B was a light green 1936 works car for the use of works driver Marcel Lehoux. The French Algerian used R3B for a number of events in mainland Europe, including a good second at Monaco
R3B was entered for Lehoux for a Formula Libre race at Deauville, France, the cars normal 1,500cc. engine being replaced by a 2litre Zoller supercharged unit.
Sadly the third place R3B was hit by Farina as he was lapping Lehoux. In the ensuing crash R3B rolled and caught fire resulting in Lehoux receiving fatal injuries.
As R3B was too badly damaged for a rebuild, it was canalised for spares. Although various parts may still be in use on other cars, this is the only ERA to have ceased to exist.
(Dismantled after Marcel Lehoux's fatal crash and never rebuilt)

E.R.A. R4B/C/D
The Works 1935 to 1938
(Converted to R4C over the winter 1936/37)
Rebuilt in March 1938 as R4D around a new chassis frame, the old R4C frame being re-used in R8C
The Works 1938 to 1939
R Mays 1939 to 1952
W R Flockhart 1952 to 1954

E.R.A. R5B "Remus"
H R H Prince Chula 1936 to 1937
A P R Rolt 1937 to 1939
A P R Rolt & St.J R Horsfall 1939 to 1946
I F Connell 1946
P H Bell 1946 to 1951
J D Hamilton & P Fotheringham-Parker 1951
H Sullivan 1951 to 1952
V Thomas 1952 to 1954

E.R.A. R6B
J D Benjafield 1936
D L Briault 1936 to 1937
I F Connell 1937 to 1939
Mrs M E Hall-Smith 1939
R Parnell 1939 to 1945
F R Gerard 1945 to 1954

E.R.A. R7B
A C Dobson 1936 to 1945
H L Brooke 1945 to 1948
K N Hutchison 1948 to 1950
Unknown 1950 to 1954
R Linley 1954 to 1956

E.R.A. R8B/C
Earl Howe 1936 to 1938
R8C built using the discarded frame of R4C
Earl Howe 1938 to 1946
R Parnell 1946 to 1947
T C Harrison 1947 to 1951
B N Shawe-Taylor 1951 to 1952
A G Whitehead 1952 to 1955

That'd be R8B/C when it had been rebodied by Cuth Harrison (and had the i.f.s. C/D chassis).
Raced in VSCC by Bertie Brown and later by Bruce Spollon who rebodied it back to a normal ERA style

E.R.A. R9B
D H Scribbans 1936 to 1938
R E Ansell 1938 to 1948
G E Ansell 1948 to 1950
B N Shawe-Taylor 1950 to 1951
E J A Wilkinson 1951 to 1954

E.R.A. R10B
P N Whitehead 1936 to 1952
R D P Wilkinson 1952 to 1957

E.R.A. R11B
R E Tongue 1936 to 1938
Hon. Peter Aitken 1938 to 1946
R M Cowell & G M Watson 1946 to 1947
E G Pool 1947 to 1948
R Parnell 1948
P H Bell 1948 to 1956

E.R.A. R12B/C
The Works 1936 to 1937
(Converted to R12C over the winter 1936/37)
The Works 1937 to 1938
H R H Prince Chula 1938 to 1939
(Rebuilt as R12B in 1939)
H R H Prince Chula 1939 to 1949
D A Hampshire & D Murray 1949 to 1951
J A Somervail 1951 to 1954

E.R.A. R14B
J P Wakefield 1938 to 1941
R Parnell 1941 to 1945
F R Gerard 1945 to 1955

E.R.A. E type
Designed by Peter Berthon, the car didn't race until late 1939, appearing first in the International Trophy at Brooklands - it was withdrawn due to poor performance. Only three cars were built, numbered GP1, GP2 and GP3. Although unsuccessful in competition, it was fast - it was timed by Mercedes at 172 mph at Reims.
Frontal area:9 sq ft
Power:260 bhp
Wheels:18 inch front, 19 inch rears
Brakes:hydraulically actuated drums with twin leading shoes
Suspension:De Dion rear, copied from Mercedes W125, although originally designed with swing axles
Gearbox:Originally synchromesh. The synchro rings were removed for GP1
Capacity:1487cc, eventually bored to 2000cc. Supercharged with a Zoller vane-type blower, a two-stage Roots supercharger was used post-war.

E.R.A. E type GP1
The Works 1938 to 1946
P N Whitehead 1946 to 1947
R Parnell 1947 to 1948
P N Whitehead 1948 to ?
The Works ? to 1955

E.R.A. E type GP1, Testing at Donington Park, 1939.

E.R.A. E type GP1, Dobson at Albi in 1939 with the original E Type

E.R.A. E type GP1

#12 E.R.A. E type GP1, Whitehead
Peter Whitehead in his E.R.A. E Type in the pits at the 1947 Jersey International Road Race. Charlie White of Motorwork who looked after Whitehead's cars is standing behind the cockpit, spanner in hand. .adam@forgham.com

E.R.A. E type GP2
The Works 1938 to 1946
H L Brooke 1946 to 1947
The Works 1947 to ?
R P King ? to 1955

E.R.A. E type GP2, Silverstone 1950 and Leslie Johnson's E Type sits outside...the beer tent !

E.R.A. G type 2.0litre Formula Two
The Works 1952

Hosted by uCoz